Back to TED Rules

MDC as an extension of high AR.

 


Get this… THERE IS NO “TRUE" MDC!!!

I thought up this stupid idea when I was writing a post about MDC and armor penetration and AR. Then I thought about my AR house rules and made something up on the spot that was really effective! Here’s how it works.

 

… okay let me toss in the AR rules this is based on first.

 

AR Absorption: Each AR over 4 absorbs 1 point of damage. For example armor with an AR of 12 absorbs (12-4=8) 8 points of damage from each strike.

 

Breaching AR: If a strike roll beats a character’s AR, then the “angle” of the blow was just right on the armor. Any damage done over the absorption is done to the character inside. The damage absorbed is taken from the armor’s SDC (if applicable) as full damage.

 

Hitting, but not Breaching AR: If a strike roll is over 4 and lower than the AR, then the damage done to the armor (after the absorption amount, which goes nowhere) is one one-hundredth (here’s where the MDC comes in). Any damage done past the absorption is done to the armor SDC at one one-hundredth. One way to see it is that if the AR is not breached, all damage is done to the armor on the MDC scale instead of the SDC scale. Again if the armor is natural, the absorption damage is simply ignored (since natural armor has no SDC to it) and goes to the armored target.

 

There! Now for the MDC/Rifts rules I pulled out my backside.

 

Natural MDC Structures: This is as simple as it gets… simply add 20 to the AR of the creature in magic rich worlds. What’s labeled as “MDC” in the creature descriptions is actually SDC and HP combined. It’s just that the AR is so high that the likelihood of breaching their armor is pretty slim. Even humans who are MDC (such as visitors from the world of Ninjas & Superspies with body hardening abilities) have an AR of 24. The absorption is 20 and any roll equal to & under 24 counts only on an MDC scale. Rolls over 24 count as SDC scale.

 

Thus shooting an MDC martial artist with an SDC rifle can hurt them, if your shot is precise enough and does over 20 SDC damage. If that rifle’s an MDC laser rifle, you do MDC instead (ignoring absorption, as MDC always rounds up). If that MDC laser rifle strikes over the AR, chances are pretty good that a 1-hit kill results.

 

MDC Body Armor: Look at the armor type and figure out a reasonable AR for the material (plastic would absorb zero to five; zero if that rubbery stuff the Altera Slave Barge Women wear, 5 for thick plastics; 3-4 for plastic-man armor). Then add 20 to the AR (or 24 to the absorption) to find the AR on MDC scale. The AR rules above still apply.

 

So again we have an SDC rifle and an MDC laser rifle, but firing at a dummy with old CS body armor (AR of 32, absorption of 28). If, by some miracle, the strike roll is over 32 with our SDC rifle, then the first 28 damage (as “MDC” to the armor, really SDC) is done to the armor and the rest goes to the dummy inside (still as SDC). Any strikes under 32 do nothing (unless damage after absorption is over 100 SDC, which does 1 MDC). Firing the MDC laser rifle takes off the MDC like regular (minus 28 SDC absorption, which doesn’t count on the MDC scale and goes nowhere anyway) unless, once again by some miracle, the strike roll is over 32. Then in one blast the armor takes 28 damage (which isn’t removed from the MDC blast; remember that the 28 SDC counts for beans in an MDC blast) and the dummy inside takes full MDC damage. If the person inside the CS armor was SDC, there would be nothing left but boiled stew with arms & legs, and the armor would have a gaping, smoking hole in it.

 

Small MDC, large SDC: This is important in situations like the martial artist above. Martial artists can tend to have a lot of SDC (in SDC worlds), but their body hardening gives them small amounts of MDC in MD worlds like Rifts. Keep track of SDC/HP, and track MDC separately. In a situation where the character becomes SDC again then the SDC and HP really do make a difference (travels to other worlds, some temporal magicks and phase technology ignore MDC and become SDC). Think of it as natural MDC and MDC body armor (over SDC being) combined, but the best of both worlds. Remember, though, that only the MDC value has an AR over 20.

 

Top of Document